Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Learn more about how we hire

TTS is an Equal Opportunity Employer

We’re building a team that reflects our country. We don’t discriminate based on race, color, religion, sex, gender identity or expression, national origin, political affiliation, sexual orientation, marital status, disability, genetic information, age, membership in an employee organization, retaliation, parental status, military service, or other non-merit factors.

Hiring Authorities

There are two primary types of hiring authorities used by TTS: Competitive Service and Excepted Service. The application and hiring process will vary slightly based on the type of role for which you are applying.

Competitive Service: Applicants for all competitive service roles must complete the application process at Individuals go through a competitive hiring process before being selected and appointed. This process is open to all applicants. Competitive service roles are considered “career roles,” which means they are not limited to a specific period of time or term. This hiring process may consist of a written test, an evaluation of the individual’s education and experience, or an evaluation of other attributes necessary for successful performance in the position to be filled.

Excepted Service: These roles are “not to exceed” (NTE) positions, which means they are two-year terms and can be extended once for a total of four years of service. These roles are not always posted on Instead, candidates can apply via our online application.


For Competitive Service roles: All United States citizens and nationals (residents of American Samoa and Swains Islands) are eligible to apply.

For Excepted Service roles: All United States citizens and nationals (residents of American Samoa and Swains Islands) are eligible to apply, and applicants must not be current GSA employees or contractors.